Tips for Authors: Plot

Standard

Ylva Publishing

Paulette Lily Central Park 1 Today Paulette Callen, author of Charity and Fervent Charity , talks about the importance of plots:

‘As regards plot I find real life no help at all. Real life seems to have no plots. And as I think a plot desirable and almost necessary, I have this extra grudge against life.’

–       Ivy Compton-Burnett

Many modern novels do not have much plot, from what I can see.  In fact, a couple years ago, an article appeared in The New York Times maintaining that young adult novels (Harry Potter, Twilight, etc.) have become popular with all ages because in a YA novel, you can still find a plot.  I agree.  I remember making it all the way through Wolf Hall, which won a big award and got a boatload of hype, and I thought, What was this all about?  I have no idea.  The book had no plot…

View original post 336 more words

Leave a Reply

